Office of the Chief of Police

Mark Solesky, Chief of Police, commands a growing department with over 525 police officers and civilian personnel. The Department is responsible for providing police services to over 249,422 citizens within an area of 353 square miles comprising the City of Chesapeake, which is located in the southern portion of Hampton Roads and is bordered by the City of Virginia Beach to the east, the City of Norfolk and Portsmouth to the north, the City of Suffolk to the west, and the State of North Carolina to the south. The Chesapeake Police Department is divided into three major Bureaus, which are Patrol Operations, Investigations, and Support. Each Bureau is commanded by an Assistant Chief of Police, reporting to the Deputy Chief of Police. The Department has a strong commitment to Community Policing and provides a wide range of innovative and progressive law enforcement services.