Boards & Commissions: Full List & Meeting Schedules

This is a full list of the City of Chesapeake’s authorities, boards, commissions, and committees. It includes current meeting schedules. It was last revised August 3, 2022. If you are interested in serving on a board or commission, please take a look at the City’s current vacancies

Note: At any given meeting two or more City Council Members may be present.

This constitutes notice of an open meeting pursuant to Section 2.2-3707 of the Code of Virginia.

Download a printable version of the meeting schedule (PDF)

To search the list, use CTRL+F (Windows) or CMD+F (Mac).

Board or CommissionMeeting DatesLocationTime

 Airport Authority
(Contact: Chris Schrantz 757-432-8110)
cschrantz@chesapeakeairport.com or
(Mary Cover 757-432-8110)
mcover@chesapeakeairport.com

Monthly:
2nd Tuesday

 

 

Chesapeake Regional Airport
2800 Airport Drive

 

 

7:00 p.m.

 

 

 Animal Services Advisory Board
(Contact: Cat Daniels 757-382-8080)
cdaniels@cityofchesapeake.net

Monthly:
2nd Thursday

 

Chesapeake Animal Services
2100 S. Military Highway

 

4:15 p.m.

 

 

 Chesapeake Agricultural Advisory Commission
(Contact: Elaine Ballance 757-382-6348)
eballance@cityofchesapeake.net

Quarterly:
3rd Wednesday in February, May, August and November

Agriculture Extension Trailer
212 Holt Drive


6:30 p.m.



 Chesapeake Bay Preservation Area Board
(Contact: Ethan Hoar 757-382-6176)
ehoar@cityofchesapeake.net or
(Sherry Carawan 757-382-6176)
scarawan@cityofchesapeake.net  

Monthly:
3rd Wednesday

 

City Hall
City Council Chamber

 

6:00 p.m.

 

 

 Chesapeake Bicycle/Trails Advisory Committee
(Contact: Kevin Finn 757-382-6176)
kfinn@cityofchesapeake.net


Monthly:
4th Monday
(No meetings in May, June, July, November, or December)

Chesapeake Regional Lifestyles Center
800 Battlefield Boulevard N.

 

5:00 p.m.

 

 

 Chesapeake Board of Historic and Architectural Review
(Contact: Kevin Finn 757-382-6176)
kfinn@cityofchesapeake.net  

Monthly:
1st Thursday

Public Safety Operations Center
2130 S. Military Highway

5:30 p.m.

 

Chesapeake City Council Audit Committee
(Contact: Darren Padilla 757-382-8932)
dpadilla@cityofchesapeake.net or
(Anthony Markun 757-382-8513)
amarkun@cityofchesapeake.net

Quarterly:
3rd Tuesday in March, June, September and November;
2nd Tuesday in December

City Hall
4th Floor Training Room

 

3:00 p.m.

 

 

 Chesapeake Commission on Health and Well Being
(Contact: Ed Gonzalez 757-819-6214)
egonzalez@chesapeakeibh.net  

Monthly:
3rd Thursday

304 Albemarle Drive
Fire Department Conference Room

8:30 a.m.


 Chesapeake Community Criminal Justice Board
(Contact: Cori Craver 757-543-3062)
ccraver@cityofchesapeake.net

Quarterly:
2nd Thursday in March, June, September and December

Public Safety Operations Center
2130 S. Military Highway

4:00 p.m.

 

 Chesapeake Historic Preservation Commission
(Contact: Jessica Cosmas 757-382-1360)
jcosmas@cityofchesapeake.net or
(Ana Elezovic 757-382-1311)
aelezovic@cityofchesapeake.net

Monthly:
2nd Thursday



PR&T Administrative Office
1224 Progressive Drive



5:00 p.m.




 Chesapeake Hospital Authority
(Contact: Ashley Albertson 757-749-0123)
ashley.albertson@chesapeakeregional.com

Monthly:
4th Thursday

Chesapeake Regional Medical Center – Boardroom
736 Battlefield Boulevard N.

6:00 p.m.

 Chesapeake Integrated Behavioral Healthcare Board
(Contact: Amy Blondell 757-819-6215)
ablondell@chesapeakeibh.net  

Monthly:
2nd Monday

224 Great Bridge Boulevard


5:00 p.m.


 Chesapeake Interagency Consortium
(Contact: Kenya Ratliff Youngblood 757-382-2333)
kratliff@cityofchesapeake.net

Monthly:
3rd Friday

Department of Social Services
CIC Conference Room
100 Outlaw Street

9:00 a.m.


 Chesapeake Land Bank Authority
(Contact: David Perry 757-478-9006)
david@chesapeakelandbank.com

Monthly:
1st Wednesday

411 Cedar Road
1st Floor Conference Room

3:30 p.m.


 Chesapeake OPEB Finance Board
(Contact: Monica Paul 757-382-6715)
mpaul@cityofchesapeake.net or
(Nancy Tracy 757-382-6931)
ntracy@cityofchesapeake.net

Quarterly:
3rd Thursday in February, May, August and November

 

City Hall
4th Floor
Human Resources Conference Room

 

12:00 p.m.

 

 

 Chesapeake Redevelopment and Housing Authority
(Contact: Angie Brickhouse 757-233-6425)
angela_brickhouse@crhava.org or
(John Kownack 757-233-6428)
john_kownack@crhava.org

Monthly:
4th Wednesday
(No meeting in November)
 
 

CRHA Central Office Boardroom
1468 S. Military Highway



5:00 p.m.




 Citizen Advisory Committee (to CLBA)
(Contact: David Perry 757-478-9006)
david@chesapeakelandbank.com

Quarterly:
3rd Wednesday in February, May, August and November

Public Safety Operations Center
2130 S. Military Highway

6:00 p.m.


 CSB of Chesapeake, Inc.
(Contact: City Clerk's Office at 757-382-6151)

Annually:
Date TBD

224 Great Bridge Boulevard

8:30 a.m.

 Economic Development Authority
(Contact: Steven Wright 757-382-8040)
stevenwright@cityofchesapeake.net or
(Jude Jackson 757-382-8040)
jjackson2@cityofchesapeake.net

Monthly:
3rd Thursday



Summit Pointe
555 Belaire Avenue
Suite 310

 

3:00 p.m.




 Fine Arts Commission
(Contact: Joe Ruthenberg 757-382-1314)
jruthenberg@cityofchesapeake.net or
(Mike Barber 757-382-1305)
mbarber@cityofchesapeake.net  

Monthly:
3rd Thursday



PR&T Administrative Office
1224 Progressive Drive



6:30 p.m.




 Fire Prevention Code Appeals Board
(Contact: Donald Wooten 757-382-6566)
dwooten@cityofchesapeake.net or
(Angela Brinkley 757-382-6522)
albrinkley@cityofchesapeake.net

Annually:
January 25, 2022



Fire Department Classroom
304 Albemarle Drive



4:00 p.m.




 Groundwater Committee
(Contact: David Jurgens 757-382-6401)
djurgens@cityofchesapeake.net or
(Rama Thompson 757-382-6401)
rthompson@cityofchesapeake.net 

As Needed




City Hall
Public Utilities Department



TBD




 Hampton Roads Disabilities Board
(Regional Board)
(Contact: Shernita Bethea 757-420-8300)
sbethea@hrpdcva.gov

 

Monthly:
2nd Friday




HRPDC Regional Building
723 Woodlake Drive




             

2:00 p.m.





 Hampton Roads Planning District Commission
(Regional Board)
(Contact: Cynthia Mulkey 757-420-8300)
cmulkey@hrpdcva.gov or
(Kelli Arledge 757-420-8300)
karledge@hrpdcva.gov

Monthly:
3rd Thursday in January, February, March, May, July, October and November

 

HRPDC Regional Building
723 Woodlake Drive

 

 

12:30 p.m.

 

 

 Hampton Roads Regional Jail Authority
(Regional Board)
(Contact: Jeff Vergakis, Superintendent 757-488-7500)



Monthly:
3rd Wednesday




Hampton Roads Regional Jail
2690 Elmhurst Lane
Portsmouth, VA
Large Training Room


1:30 p.m.





 Hampton Roads Transportation Planning Organization
(Regional Board)
(Contact: Cynthia Mulkey 757-420-8300)
cmulkey@hrpdcva.gov or
(Kelli Arledge 757-420-8300)
karledge@hrpdcva.gov

Monthly:
3rd Thursday in January, February, March, May, July, October and November

 

HRPDC Regional Building
723 Woodlake Drive




10:30 a.m.





 Human Services Advisory Board
(Contact: Wendy Matthis 757-382-2061)
wmatthis@cityofchesapeake.net

Monthly:
1st Monday

Department of Human Services
100 Outlaw Street

6:00 p.m.


 Library Board
(Contact: Wendy Anderson 757-410-7101)
wanderson@chesapeakelibrary.org  

 

Quarterly:
4th Thursday in January, April, July and October

 

Jan. – Russell Memorial Library
April –Dr. Clarence V. Cuffee Outreach & Innovation Library
July – Indian River Library
October – Central Library

4:15 p.m.




 Local Board of Building Code Appeals
(Contact: Kim Fowler 757-382-6466)
kfowler@cityofchesapeake.net

Bi-Monthly:
3rd Wednesday (if needed) in January, March, May, July, September and November

Central Library
298 Cedar Road


5:30 p.m.



 Local Emergency Planning Committee
(Contact: Bobby Gelormine 757-382-1778)
argelormine@cityofchesapeake.net

 

Bi-Monthly:
4th Thursday in February, April, June, August, October and December

Public Safety Operations Center
2130 S. Military Highway



2:00 p.m.




 Mosquito Control Commission
(Contact: Hope Lewis 757-382-3450)
hlewis@cityofchesapeake.net              

Monthly:
3rd Tuesday 
(No meeting in December)

Mosquito Control Headquarters
1611 Shell Road

1:00 p.m.


 Natural Event Mitigation Advisory Committee
(Contact: Renee McKinnon 757-382-1779)
rmckinnon@cityofchesapeake.net

Bi-Monthly:
3rd Thursday in January, March, May, July, September and November

Public Safety Operations Center
2130 S. Military Highway


6:00 p.m.



Parks, Recreation and Tourism Advisory Board
(Contact: Cori Fuqua 757-382-1321)
cfuqua@cityofchesapeake.net or
(Lynn Jordan 757-382-1306)
ljordan@cityofchesapeake.net



Monthly:
1st Thursday





Varies - rotates among community centers each month.  See  website for details.






             

6:30 p.m.







 Planning Commission
(James McNamara 757-382-6176)
jmcnamara@cityofchesapeake.net or
(Gilbert Bostwick 757-382-6176)
gbostwick@cityofchesapeake.ne t



2nd and 4th Wednesdays
(The 4th Wednesday is a tentative meeting based on need.)




City Hall
City Council Chamber






6:00 p.m.
Pre-Meeting
7:00 p.m.
Planning Commission Meeting


 The Planning Council
(Regional Board)
(Contact: Joann Short 757-622-9268 EXT. 3008)
jshort@theplanningcouncil.org or
(Kimberly Malone 757-622-9268 EXT. 3012)
kmalone@theplanningcouncil.org 

 

Quarterly:
4th Monday of January, April, July and October

 



2551 Eltham Avenue, Suite I
Norfolk, VA 23513

Zoom meeting option available. Call 757-622-9268 for information on how to join.



12:00 p.m.







 Public Art Committee
(Contact: Mike Barber 757-382-1305)
mbarber@cityofchesapeake.net or
(Joe Ruthenberg 757-382-1320)
jruthenberg@cityofchesapeake.net

Quarterly
Dates TBD




TBD





TBD





 Senior Services of Southeastern Virginia
(Regional Board)
(Contact: Monika Zajac-Lorke 757-222-4509)
mlorke@ssseva.org or
(Steve Zollos 757-222-4509)
szollos@ssseva.org



Quarterly:
4th Thursday in January, April, July, August and October




 

2551 Eltham Avenue, Suite Q
Norfolk, VA 23513

Zoom meeting option available. Call 757-222-4509 for information on how to join.




10:00 a.m.









 South Norfolk Revitalization Commission
(Contact: Marvin Hodges 757-382-6176)
mhodges@cityofchesapeake.net  

Monthly:
3rd Thursday
(No meeting in December)

South Norfolk Memorial Library
801 Poindexter Street

6:00 p.m.


 Southeastern Public Service Authority (SPSA)
(Regional Board)
(Contact: Tressa Preston 757-961-3486)
tpreston@spsa.com or
(Dennis Bagley 757-961-3582)
dbagley@spsa.com

Monthly:
4th Wednesday
(No meeting in November and December’s meeting will take place the 2nd Wednesday of the month)

SPSA Regional Office Building
723 Woodlake Drive




9:30 a.m.





 Southeastern Virginia Alcohol Safety Action Program
(Regional Board)
(Contact: Anthony Carmichael 757-396-6980, EXT 209)
acarmichael@dipva.org




Quarterly:
January, April, July, October






901 Port Centre Parkway
Suite 3
Portsmouth, VA 23704




5:30 p.m.







Southside Network Authority
(Regional Board)
(Contact: Steven DeBerry 757-617-1999)
stevenhdeberry@gmail.com

Monthly:
2nd Friday


HRPDC Regional Building
723 Woodlake Drive


2:00 p.m.




 STOP, Inc.
  (
Regional Board)
For additional information, call 757-858-1360

TBD


TBD


TBD


 Stormwater Committee
(Contact: Barbara Brumbaugh 757-382-6919)
bbrumba@cityofchesapeake.net







Monthly:
4th Monday
(No meetings in May or December)
 
 
 
 
 

City Hall
4th Floor Training Room

Due to security measures in place, please arrive at the City Hall lobby by 5:50 p.m. for an escort to the training room. 

Call 757-647-2264 if assistance is needed to enter the meeting.


6:00 p.m.









 Tidewater Community College Board
(Regional Board)
(Contact: Latesha Johnson 757-822-1054)
ldjohnson@tcc.edu

Bi-Monthly
2nd Tuesday in January, March, May, August, September and November

Locations will be posted on website prior to each meeting (rotation of TCC campuses)


4:00 p.m.



 Tidewater Youth Services Commission
(Regional Board)
(Contact: Katherine Grimm 757-647-4878)
katherine.grimm@djj.virginia.gov or
(Jenny Hodge 757-488-9161)
jhodge@tysfoundation.org       

Monthly:
1st Monday





Portsmouth Court Service Unit
1345 Court Street, Suite 201
Portsmouth, VA 23705




11:30 a.m.






 Towing Advisory Board
(Contact: Officer Gary Hilber 757-382-6161)
ghilber@cityofchesapeake.net or
(Raymond Kerr 757-382-6161)
rkerr@cityofchesapeake.net

As Needed:
TBD



Public Safety Operations Center
2130 S. Military Highway



TBD




 Transportation District Commission of Hampton Roads  (Hampton Roads Transit)
(Regional Board)
(Contact: Luis Ramos 757-222-6159)
lramos@hrtransit.org or
(Amy Braziel 757-222-6156)
abraziel@hrtransit.org


Monthly:
4th Thursday
(November and December meetings held on 2nd Thursday)
 
 
 
 

HRT Hampton District
3400 Victoria Boulevard
(January, March, May, September and November)

HRT Norfolk District
509 E. 18th Street, Building 4
(February, April, June, July, August, October and December)

1:00 p.m.








 Transportation Toll Facility Advisory Committee
(Contact: Gary Walton 757-204-0014)
gwalton@cityofchesapeake.net or
(Belinda Malone 757-204-0018)
bmalone@cityofchesapeake.net

Quarterly:
January, April, July, October


Chesapeake Expressway
168 Toll Plaza Road
Conference Room
(January, April and July)
City Manager’s Conference Room (October)

11:30 a.m.




 Utility Review Board
(Contact: David Jurgens 757-382-6401)
djurgens@cityofchesapeake.net or
(Rama Thompson 757-382-6401)
rthompson@cityofchesapeake.net  

Quarterly:
1st Monday in February, May, August and November


City Hall
4th Floor Human Resources Training Room



4:30 p.m.




 Board of Equalization of Real Estate Assessments
(Contact: Regina Boyce 757-382-6088)
rboyce@cityofchesapeake.net or
(Greg Daniels 757-382-6756)
gdaniels@cityofchesapeake.net

Annually:
(as needed depending on number of appeals)



City Hall
4th Floor Human Resources Training Room





TBD



             



 Board of Zoning Appeals
(Contact: Kim Fowler 757-382-6466)
kfowler@cityofchesapeake.net or
(Dale Ware 757-382-6385)
dware@cityofchesapeake.net




Monthly:
4th Thursday
(If no applications filed in any given month, there will be no meeting)
(November and December meetings combined and held the 2nd Thursday in December)

City Hall
Council Chambers







6:30 p.m.








 Chesapeake Environmental Improvement Council
(Contact: Megan Hale 757-382-1318)
mhale@cityofchesapeake.net or
(Lynn Jordan 757-382-1306)
ljordan@cityofchesapeake.net

Monthly:
4th Wednesday
(No formal meetings in July, November or December)

River Crest Community Center
1001 River Walk Parkway



12:00 p.m.




 Mayor’s Commission on Veterans Affairs
(Contact: Regenna Burden 757-382-6151)
rburden@cityofchesapeake.net

Monthly:
3rd Thursday
(No meeting in December)

City Hall
Treasurer's Conference Room, 1st Floor


7:00 p.m.